Easter Sunday state of mind (of a Christian)

Posted on April 24, 2011

1


It’s Easter Sunday yet again.

For non-Christians, they’ve probably been led to believe (by the good marketing people of the capitalist system) that this holiest of days somehow involves a bunny and some eggs that he’s hidden.

I actually don’t have a clue how that ties in to Easter Sunday.

I’ll have to Google the history of how that one started…one of these days.

Today, I think I’ll just spend a quiet moment to reflect on the significance of Easter.

FYI, Christians celebrate Easter for one reason only: the celebration of the resurrection of Christ.

Now that I think about it, it IS actually at the core of our belief!

I have to admit that my knowledge of the bible is pretty shallow, but even I know that the resurrection is deeply profound.

Without this particular episode in history, we Christians might as well call ourselves Jews.

Although this has nothing to do with Easter Sunday, something else that just struck me about being a Christian is about “loving your enemy”.

This is actually SO Christian, when you think about it.

If I’m not mistaken, Jesus Christ (JC) must have said something like “what’s so special about loving the people who love or like you, anyway?..even sinners can do THAT.”

I’m not saying it’s easy to do, but I’m trying.

I believe the process has to start by understanding your enemy and where he’s coming from with his ideas and actions.

However, I don’t think loving your enemy means that we have to agree or condone whatever it is about them that made them our enemy in the first place.

But that’s just my opinion.

I’ll leave the level of “love” you decide to give to your enemy, entirely up to you.

One tip a priest shared with us was to say a prayer for your enemies that goes something like this:

“Lord, please bless (insert enemy’s name here) and make (insert enemy’s name here) happy!”

I told you it’s not easy but as good Christians, we’ve all got to give it a go.

So to all my enemies out there, I pray that the Lord blesses you and makes you happy!

Happy Easter everyone.