Our vote…to ensure a better future for all Sarawakians

Posted on April 15, 2011

0


It’s finally here.

The eve of election day.

Officially, today’s the last day of campaigning in the offline world.

Over the past few days, I’ve noticed that in the online world, we as normal citizens have been campaigning hard for our chosen parties and candidates, as well.

I have to admit, I too have been online more than usual, trying to question some of the political spin going around, while also prodding my fellow cyber-Sarawakians to ask themselves some difficult and important questions.

Personally, the prospect of Sarawak being led by people, who have a very narrow view and focused too much on the past is just too depressing and a little bit frightening.

So I have been motivated these past few days, by the belief that my humble and insignificant effort would be able to ensure a better future for Sarawak.

To help make Sarawak a better place to live…To play a small part in making sure that the people we vote to lead us in the next five years…are those who can see the big picture when it comes to Sarawak’s future.

People with plans for progress…not only for the whole of Sarawak, but for the street I’m living in.

People who will protect and preserve the inherent rights of Sarawak and all Sarawakians.

People who don’t have to shout…to be heard and to get things done.

And most of all, I want people who understand the Sarawak way of doing things.

Let’s face it, in this beloved country of ours, our great State of Sarawak stands out as being unique…Sarawakians are a unique people and the peace and harmony we enjoy is truly something to be treasured!

When I vote tomorrow, that’s what I’ll be thinking about.

I pray for all Sarawakians voting tomorrow for our future. Whether your polling centre is a short walk away or you may have to cross rivers and mountains in order to cast your vote, I hope everything goes smoothly and we all get to enjoy our weekend.

God bless you and God bless our beloved State of Sarawak.